• Wynyard:
    +44 (0) 1642 221 331

Testimonials and Case Studies


So you want to know what Evolution are really like – well no one tells it better than our existing clients!

Existing clients are extremely important to us and we strive to ensure that we give them the first class service they are used to – and deserve!

Read on for details of what our clients have to say about us and the work we have done for them:-

 

 Kings Church Darlington logo

Mark Sowerby, King’s Church Darlington ‘Evolution has acted as Independent Examiner and Auditor of King’s Church Darlington since our Incorporation in 2005.  Over this period we have received a good service from Evolution with their team focused on achieving filing deadlines, whilst demonstrating an understanding of the conflicting pressures on the time of the volunteers who prepare the accounts.  Evolution have ensured year on year continuity of staff and have delivered an efficient service to the Church.'

 

 

 New Seaham Academy

New Seaham Primary School converted to Academy status on 1 October 2012 but recognised the benefits of the early appointment of accountants.  New Seaham decided to go out to tender in May 2012 and appointed Evolution LLP in June 2012.  Evolution assisted New Seaham in the run up to conversion by providing lots of background information, as well as advising on appropriate financial controls and policies.

New Seaham Academy's Principal, Bernadette Dolan, said “We spoke to our legal advisers and they highlighted the fact that conversion would have a major impact on our financial reporting processes.  They helped us with the tendering process and Evolution stood out due to their experience with Academies and the range of support and services they were able to offer us and, in particular, their experience in dealing with primary schools was a major positive.”

Bernadette continued “The biggest change for us was that we were now responsible for managing our own finances and preparing our own internal and external reports.  Evolution suggested an accounting package, set it up for us and delivered training to ensure we could use the system effectively and produce the reports that we need for our governors and external reporting.”

“The training and support provided by the Evolution team has been excellent.  We have had to submit accounts and budget returns to the EFA and they were all submitted on time with the assistance of Graham Fitzgerald, Chantelle Hodgson and the wider Academies team.  It has been a steep learning curve for us but we now feel much more confident.”

 

 

 

Douglas Cornish "I contacted one of Evolution's Tax team following a recommendation from my son.

I had received tax demands for seven tax years which I disputed with HM Revenue & Customs but got nowhere.  They continued to demand a significant four figure sum in respect of the tax due, as well as penalties and interest.

The Tax team made contact with HMRC on my behalf and eventually they agreed that my liabilities arose due to their errors and wrote off the tax, penalties and interest.

They also managed to get me a tax refund from HMRC.  So I’ve gone from a position of owing the Revenue a significant amount of money, to them owing me money.

Undoubtedly without their help, I would have paid the tax – tax which arose through no fault of my own.  I cannot recommend them enough and will be recommending to anyone who needs tax assistance."

 

 

 The Wensleydale Heifer

J L Moss, Director, The Wensleydale Heifer "We purchased The Wensleydale Heifer in April 2006 and had a clear vision of what we wanted The Heifer to be.

We wanted to create a special place for people to visit and enjoy superb, innovative food in friendly, welcoming surroundings.  To create the environment we wanted required a significant financial investment.

Evolution has ensured that we structured our funding both cost and tax effectively.  The large investment we made in the first year created tax losses and Evolution guided us to maximise refunds of tax, enabling us to reinvest in the business when the business needed the money.

Throughout our exciting journey, Evolution has provided us with astute financial and business guidance.  In December 2011 we transferred the business to a limited company giving us business and tax benefits in the future.  During the process of incorporation, Evolution liaised with our bankers and other professionals to ensure the transfer went smoothly.

Evolution understands the hospitality sector and have helped us refine our management systems and margins.  As the business develops, Evolution continues to provide us with the business advice and support we need."

Situated in one of the most beautiful areas of the country, between Leyburn and Hawes, in the stunning Yorkshire Dales National Park, The Wensleydale Heifer offers high quality award winning dining, as well as luxury award winning accommodation.

www.wensleydaleheifer.co.uk

 

 Nortech Solutions  

Bryan Bunn, Managing Director, Nortech Solutions Limited “We commenced trading in April 2011 but the initial guidance and support we received from our accountants was not meeting our needs.

In December 2011 we appointed Evolution and from day one they became actively involved in supporting our fast growing business.

In a matter of weeks I had accurate management accounts, Sage support for my accounts team of one and a clear strategy for structuring the business to facilitate growth.

We have subsequently utilised Evolution to help us;

  • to appoint an in house accountant and now have an accounts team of three
  • to legally structure the Nortech Group to incentivise and develop key staff
  • with Specialist tax advice
  • to provide a clear strategy for the Group’s stakeholders and the Group itself

Evolution understands business and they know the Energy sector.  They also provide timely advice, are easy to talk to and communicate very effectively.”

Nortech Solutions has been established by Bryan Bunn, an engineer with substantial experience on an international scale in the oil & gas, petrochemical, chemical, nuclear and iron and steel sectors.

An engineering design and project management company, Nortech Solutions has the capabilities to provide a fully integrated technical service through the life cycle of a project from concept through to completion.

www.nortech-solutions.co.uk 

 

 PET Processors UK LLC logo

Evolution LLP is a member of HLB International, a world-wide network of independent accounting firms and business advisers.  As part of Evolution’s membership we have been assisting international firm PET Processors LLC.

PET Processors UK LLC (PETUK) is a subsidiary of the US-based Diefenthal Holdings LLC.  The company has demonstrated significant growth in recent years, widening both its product range and customer base.  The company invests heavily in research and development and is at the leading edge of product development in its sector.  PET employs 21 people at its Dumfries base, and is looking at expanding the size of its workforces and its premises to accommodate further growth.  The company is a key contributor to the local economy and exports account for a significant proportion of its output.

Services provided include annual reporting, auditing and tax compliance to fit in with the reporting deadline of the company and its US parent.  The company has also sourced additional compliance services, including a review of month end stock control procedures and grant claim reviews.  Strategic, tax and commercial advice has also been provided by HLBI firms to the company and its management to help ensure continued growth and the best use of available resources.

Ian Roxburgh, Managing Director of PETUK said “Evolution has provided PETUK with an excellent service.  As well as completing our audit and tax compliance work efficiently and on schedule, they have provided us with proactive advice and support in a number of areas.  As we aim to grow our business it is important that our advisors are there to support and advise us and we have been impressed with the quality of service and their ability to deal with international issues”.

 

 Cartonplast Group  

Evolution LLP is a member of HLB International, a world-wide network of independent accounting firms and business advisers.  As part of Evolution’s membership we have been assisting international firm Cartonplast Group.

Cartonplast Group are the leader in the field of processing and servicing of reusable layer pads used as divider sheets in the transportation of glass containers and cans for the food and beverage industry.  Since 1967 they have strived to achieve a high standard of product safety in the logistics chain and environmentally friendly use of resources.  The closed loop system layer pads are used again and again, and they are very environmentally friendly because they are completely recyclable.  They set the highest hygiene security standards at every stage of the logistics chain and those standards are verifiable.  Multi level control systems, involving both man and machine, ensure these requirements are always met.

Cartonplast Group Gmbh has been a long standing client of HLBI member firms around the world.  In the UK, HLBI have assisted in providing a wide range of services to them as Cartonplast grow within the UK.  Evolution LLP provided services including annual reporting, taxation and support on acquisitions and disposals. We have also been involved in different requests from the Private Equity owner and his consultants in preparing specific reports for FDD and optimizing group structures.

Juergen Meusser, Chief Financial Officer of Cartonplast Group said “We work with a number of HLB member firms in respect of our multi-national operations covering nine countries and have been very satisfied with the quality of work and the responsiveness of the firms involved.”

 

Houghton Kepier School

Houghton Kepier Sports College appointed Evolution shortly before their conversion to Academy status.

Director of Finance and Resources, Tina Hannant, was impressed with the fact that our package includes up front support, essential to an Academy in the early months.

“We have an excellent finance team at the Academy, but Evolution have helped us in areas such as VAT, taxation advice and academy specific accounting support which were all new to us.  Their friendly, proactive approach has been refreshing and we always get a quick response to any queries or issues we have.

When we appointed accountants, we did not want a firm who simply came in once a year to deal with the audit, therefore Graham and the team at Evolution have more than fulfilled our brief”.

 

 Ravenscar Surgery logo

Andrew Rowe, Head of Evolution's Medical Services Team, has worked closely with Merrol Hay, Managing Partner of Ravenscar Surgery; Merrol explains:

“We have been working with Andrew Rowe for over ten years now and during this time Andrew and Evolution have helped us introduce various new systems to maximise profit and have provided invaluable advice.  I know I can phone them at any time and they will answer my query immediately.

Over the years, I’ve found that Evolution are always one step ahead regarding organisational and legislative changes relating to the Health Service and are able to advise us on best practice in order to proceed in an ever changing environment.

Their friendly and informal approach makes them a pleasure to work with  and we consider Evolution to be part of our own team.  I would highly recommend Evolution to anyone and especially other GP Surgeries as their knowledge of Commissioning and Consortia is second to none.”

Merrol Hay – Managing Partner

 

 

 GAC logo

 

At Evolution we pride ourselves in keeping in contact with clients who are no longer with the firm.

In early September 2011 we were approached by the directors of GAC Netherlands Limited, a previous audit client who appointed another international firm following a sale of the company in 2009.

The deadline for the submission of their accounts was looming and the directors were keen to avoid a late filing penalty.  Managing Director, Ries Hoogenboezem, had been pleased with the quality of service and value for money Evolution had provided in previous years and was happy to re-appoint us to deal with their accounts, audit and related services.  Our team reacted immediately, liaising with the company’s local advisors and finance team and sent our audit team to Rotterdam at short notice to carry out the required work. The accounts were delivered at Companies House in advance of the filing deadline.

Ries explains: “We always had an excellent working relationship with the team at Evolution and I was happy to contact them again to see if they could help us at short notice to get our accounts audited and filed. I was delighted by the speed of their reaction and the way that they worked with my finance team and external advisors to achieve a deadline that we all thought was very difficult. We are looking forward to working with them again on our 2011 accounts.”

 

 Great Smeaton School                              

Evolution has assisted Great Smeaton Primary School during their Academy conversion.  Head Teacher Kathryn Bell explains:

“We made sure that we appointed an accountant as soon as we applied to become an academy and we are glad that we did.  Evolution have provided excellent early support helping us set up our accounting systems, advising us on the right software to use and providing advice in areas such as VAT and financial controls.”

“They have also supported the school’s activities and helped our children with some of their projects.  We are delighted with the support that they have provided and would not hesitate to recommend their friendly, pro-active support to other academy schools”.

 

 

 Freebrough Academy logo

 

and
  Thornaby Academy logo

 

Evolution has been working closely with the accounting teams at Thornaby and Freebrough Academies throughout 2011, assisting them with producing management accounts, advising on the development of internal financial systems and controls, providing VAT advice and helping with reclaims and assisting with external reporting such as the WGA return.


The accounts were audited by one of the “Big Four” audit firms, Evolution prepared the statutory accounts and year end accounts file and the process worked well for all parties with the accounts being approved and finalised in advance of the 31 December deadlines with minimal fuss.

June Foxton, FD at both academies explains:

“In early 2011 it was clear that our finance team needed some support in producing monthly reports and accounts. Evolution offered us that support and have been working closely with us to bring matters up to date. Their team has demonstrated a real understanding of the technical and practical aspects relating to Academy funding and financial reporting requirements. Their approach to dealing with the issues faced has been excellent. They have become a valued part of our team and have helped us through a very steep learning process, reacting quickly to our needs and successfully achieving the agreed deadlines.

“The first year end audit process was a daunting prospect, but Graham and the Evolution team worked closely with my finance team and the auditors to ensure everything was completed on time. The feedback from the auditors was very positive and this is testament to the partnership we have built up with Evolution throughout the year and their expertise, both in developing financial systems and procedures and their understanding of the year end accounting requirements”.

 

 

Kudos Logo

Established in 2001, Kudos is a successful and growing business based in the Lake District. KUDOS has gained a deserved reputation for reliable, high quality shower products developed using the latest design technology, material and production techniques. The company is owned and managed by..........click here for further information

 

 

 

Established in the 1970s and based in the North East of England, GT Group is recognised as a world class product development company in the field of environmental engineering, supplying a broad range of products (such as Exhaust Gas Control Valves.......click here for further information